Editorial Management

Earl Ng
6 min readApr 14, 2021

It’s funny how you manage to pick up interesting skills in the unlikeliest places. More so than any class, online course, or mentorship program, the website I created for the Glowing Fool is probably the biggest contributor to many of my most marketable skills today. It served as a very practical introduction into network administration which spawned my many homelab projects, as well as a return to form for much of my writing. But perhaps most useful of all is that this website has given me ample opportunity to learn a bit more on how to manage people.

My initial vision for the Glowing Fool website was two-fold. It was to serve as a source of information for anyone interested in the initiative. If someone was looking for an opportunity to play Dungeons & Dragons (D&D) in Hong Kong, this website would serve as a beacon for those individuals to find us (and learn a little bit more about what we were doing). But the website also served the secondary purpose of being a repository of tips, tricks, and insights on how to play/run/enjoy D&D games. And this would come in the form of the various blog posts that have come to populate the website.

At first these blog posts were almost exclusively written by me. But there is strength in diversity, and I knew that if this blog was to be successful, it needed different voices, not just my own. So I went to work recruiting my friends to…

--

--

Earl Ng

Consultant, tech-geek, and D&D enthusiast (read: addict)